…Allied portraits: Jackie Briggs

jackie31

At first glance, Jackie Briggs is an intimidating presence: tall, heavy-shouldered, and a face that seems to regard friendship and violence with equal indifference.

Briggs is 37.  He’s a convicted felon, and seems to carry the weight of his prison terms around his broad neck.  But he’s also a father, grandfather, and now uses his experience and street credentials as an assistant instructor for the Madison Apprenticeship Program.

When I first met him, Briggs was quick to tell me about his childhood in Arkansas, his struggle with drugs and alcohol, and the robbery that earned him his first stint in prison.  That night he was helping lead the class; he said he felt a sense of purpose and that he was doing better than ever.  But there was also something quietly unsettling in the way he told his story.  He spoke, if only briefly, about depression and his inability to communicate the struggles that he still faces.

“Where I’m from, you don’t talk about depression,” said Briggs.  “People are gonna see that as weakness, and throw that stuff in your face.”

A month passed before Briggs and I sat down for our longer interview.  One night, during a MAP class, I talked to the group about the power of telling your personal story.  It’s redemptive, I said, a way for you to realize that as a person, you’re separate from the mistakes you’ve made.  It’s a way for you to walk away from your past.

The class politely and quietly listened, but I doubted I had inspired  anyone.  Yet when I finished my spiel, Briggs was first to raise his hand and volunteer to take part in my project.

We sat down, and Briggs opened up.  He told me about the pain he felt for not being able to provide for his family.  As a convicted felon, he’s had trouble finding regular, paid employment.   I sensed that Briggs was struggling with the concept of masculinity and the idea that, as men, financial stability and mobility can be directly connected to our self-esteem and perception.  And I think the fact that he is now an instructor and looked to as a class leader affirms his belief that he should act strong even when he doesn’t feel that way.

Yet, in the very act of speaking about powerlessness, Briggs was taking control, allowing himself a sense of agency.  I can’t know if he felt empowered by telling his story, or if he saw it as any sort of victory.  But as an outside observer, I can say that I did.

Below you’ll find a slideshow which includes audio from that interview as well as pictures I took of him and his family at home, church, and around the MAP office.

Click the pic to watch the slideshow

5 thoughts on “…Allied portraits: Jackie Briggs

  1. sense of purpose, empowerment…Havel says that “living under a rock” (oppression – weight/influence of past) gives you a unique perspective on what it’s like “coming-out from living under the rock” (esteem/efficacy restored or in process). Interviews like this are key for cultural healing, too. I enjoyed the read a lot, Mario!

    • Thanks a lot for reading and thanks for the compliments, Paul. This is the third slideshow in a series I’m doing on a employment-readiness program in south Madison.

      Before you commented, I was beginning to wonder if others would see any value in this project. From a journalistic standpoint, it’s not particularly “newsy,” and by that I mean there aren’t necessarily any new events taking place that I’m reporting here. But I’m kind of taking a step of faith and hoping it comes together as a whole in the end. Thanks again for tuning in.

      And keep up the good work up there. I was glad to see your latest story published. Thanks for sending it; there’s a noticeable warmth to your work. Best.

      • Mario, “step of faith” says it all. This is consistent with “intention.” We create/propel love forward when we take “steps of faith.” Our audience and those supporting us expands and includes those who have passed…with steps of faith. just an opinion. keep’em coming.

Leave a Reply

